About us

About us

We means «us». We don’t belong to anybody, never have. This makes us independent and shapes our culture.

We focus on people and their environment. In architecture as well as in our company.

Facts and figures

  • Founded in Bern in 1922
  • Seven locations in Switzerland and three in Germany
  • Approx. 300 employees
  • Training company with approx. 16 apprentices and 10 trainees
  • Approximately 2700 completed and 100 ongoing projects
  • Monthly construction sum approx. CHF 30 million
Zahlen und Fakten

Team

Our 300 specialists and generalists from 17 nations combine their experience and know-how in daily project work. Together they develop well-founded interdisciplinary solutions.

History

  • Early specialisation on hospital buildings

    In 1922 Otto Rudolf Salvisberg and Otto Brechbühl set up a joint office in Bern thereby laying the foundation for IttenBrechbühl. The breakthrough came in 1924/25 with the competition for the Lory hospital which was followed by the infant home in Elfenau. They won their third 1st prize with the faculty buildings for the University of Bern. These projects established the office in the architectural scene of their day. The pair became the court architects for Hoffman-La Roche both at home and abroad from 1934 onwards. After Salvisberg's early death, Brechbühl took over the Bern office in 1940. In the 60s he was joined by Jakob Itten until the company grew to over 200 employees at the start of the 70s, and thanks to several major projects it established itself as a specialist for the health sector.

  • Rededication to quality of design

    The economic downturn after the oil crisis led to a collapse in orders. In 1975 the banks forced Itten to hand over to a stronger partner, Motor Columbus.

    At the end of 1979 the new managing director, Peter Staub, found a company in disarray. The workforce which had now shrunk to 80 employees, had little work and there were scarcely any design architects left. The internal rebuilding process began with long-term strategic planning. Staffed with young architects, the company succeeded in winning twelve 1st prizes from around 50 competitions, and architectural quality was reinstated as a central issue. The Technopark in Zurich, the treatment wing of Zurich's university hospital, the vocational school for nursing in Interlaken and the pathology unit in Bern were all projects from this period. The company also took on an increasing number of assignments where it acted as the developer, and it was the first to tackle Switzerland's industrial wastelands. In 1990 Motor Columbus withdrew from the company and it was taken over by Peter Staub and Hans Eggen.

  • Solid foundation for the future

    In 1993 Gartenmann & Partner AG acquired IttenBrechbühl AG's shares. A new era begins. The staff of 45 employees soon grew to over 200. Further offices were opened, subject areas and the range of services continuously expanded. Besides design, major emphasis was placed on implementation and the tight intertwinement of skill and expertise across the entire planning and implementation process.

    In 2012 Nick Gartenmann decided to settle his succession and transferred most of the shares to his co-managers of many years. Today's partners are committed to further strengthening and expanding this healthy and best-placed company.

Values we stand for

As a traditional Swiss company, quality is our top priority.

Innovation is the driver we use to help shape the future and create sustainable solutions. Respect for our clients and employees is a matter of course, and defines the way we interact with one another. Openness – both internally and externally – provides clarity and is the basis for mutual trust. We support sustainability out of principle: We are one of very few Swiss general planners who can provide references for all existing environmental certificates. 

Our commitment as a sponsor of cultural and sports events and as a training organisation is an investment in our own future and that of the next generation to whom we impart our knowledge.

Effective network

We are very active in the leading associations and competence centres such as the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) and the Sustainable Construction Network Switzerland (Netzwerk Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz, NNBS) – with one goal: we want to help shape the future.

Locations

Über uns

Über uns

Wir gehören uns, seit jeher. Das macht uns unabhängig und prägt unsere Kultur.
Der Mensch und seine Umwelt stehen für uns im Mittelpunkt. In der Architektur wie
im Unternehmen.

Zahlen und Fakten

  • Gegründet 1922 in Bern
  • Sieben Standorte in der Schweiz 
  • Ca. 300 Mitarbeitende
  • Ausbildungsbetrieb mit ca.16 Lernenden und 10 Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten
Zahlen und Fakten

Team

Unsere 300 Spezialisten und Generalisten aus 17 Nationen vereinen ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Knowhow in der täglichen Projektarbeit. Gemeinsam erarbeiten sie fundierte interdisziplinäre Lösungsansätze.

Geschichte

  • Frühe Spezialisierung auf Spitalbauten

    1922 gründeten Otto Rudolf Salvisberg und Otto Brechbühl in Bern ein gemeinsames Büro und legten damit den Grundstein für IttenBrechbühl. Der Durchbruch gelang 1924/25 mit dem Wettbewerb für das Lory-Spital, dem das Säuglingsheim in der Elfenau folgte. Den dritten 1. Preis errangen sie mit den Institutsgebäuden der Universität Bern. Damit war das Büro in der damaligen Architekturszene etabliert. Für Hoffman-La Roche wurden die beiden ab 1934 im In- und Ausland die Hofarchitekten. Nach dem frühen Tod Salvisbergs übernahm Brechbühl 1940 das Berner Büro. In den 60ern stiess Jakob Itten hinzu, bis Anfang der 70er wuchs man auf über 200 Mitarbeitende und etablierte sich dank einiger Grossprojekte als Spezialisten für das Gesundheitswesen.

  • Wiederbesinnung auf Entwurfsqualität

    Der Konjunkturabschwung nach dem Ölschock führte zum Zusammenbruch der Auftragslage. 1975 zwangen die Banken Itten zur Übergabe an einen stärkeren Partner, Motor Columbus.

    Ende 1979 traf Peter Staub als neuer Geschäftsführer auf eine desolate Firma. Die mittlerweile 80 Mitarbeiter hatten wenig Arbeit, es gab kaum noch Entwurfsarchitekten. Der innere Wiederaufbau begann mit einer langfristigen Strategieplanung. Mit jungen Architekten gelang es, in rund 50 Wettbewerben zwölf 1. Preise zu erringen, architektonische Qualität wurde wieder zum Hauptthema. Der Technopark in Zürich, der Behandlungstrakt des Zürcher Unispitals, die Schule für Pflegeberufe in Interlaken und die Pathologie in Bern waren Projekte dieser Zeit. Zunehmend übernahm man auch Bauherrenaufgaben und bearbeitete als Erste die Industriebrachen der Schweiz. 1990 zog sich Motor Columbus zurück, Peter Staub übernahm die Firma zusammen mit Hans Eggen. 

  • Solides Fundament für die Zukunft

    1993 übernahm die Gartenmann & Partner AG die Aktien an der Itten+Brechbühl AG. Eine neue Ära beginnt. Aus den 45 Mitarbeitenden wurden bald über 200. Weitere Standorte wurden gegründet, Themengebiete und Leistungsspektrum laufend ausgebaut. Neben dem Entwurf hat die Realisierung und die enge Vernetzung von Know-how und Kompetenz über den ganzen Planungs- und Realisierungsprozess ein grosses Gewicht.

    2012 beschloss Nick Gartenmann seine Nachfolge zu regeln und übergab den Grossteil des Aktionariats an seine langjährigen Kadermitarbeiter. Die heutigen Partner stehen dafür ein, das gesunde und bestens positionierte Unternehmen weiter zu stärken und auszubauen.

Werte, für die wir uns einsetzen

Qualität steht für uns als Schweizer Traditionsunternehmen an oberster Stelle.

Innovation ist der Motor, mit dem wir die Zukunft mitgestalten und zukunftsfähige Lösungen erarbeiten. Respekt gegenüber Kunden und Mitarbeitenden ist für uns selbstverständlich und prägt unseren Umgang miteinander. Offenheit nach innen und aussen schafft Klarheit und ist die Basis für gegenseitiges Vertrauen. Nachhaltigkeit fördern wir aus Überzeugung: Als einer von wenigen Schweizer Generalplanern können wir Referenzen zu allen bestehenden Umweltzertifikaten vorlegen.

Unser Engagement als Sponsor von Kultur- und Sportanlässen sowie als Ausbildungsbetrieb ist eine Investition in die Zukunft – unserer eigenen und derjenigen der jungen Menschen, an die wir unser Wissen weitergeben.

Wirksames Netzwerk

Wir engagieren uns sehr aktiv in führenden Verbänden und Kompetenzzentren wie beispielsweise im SIA oder im Netzwerk Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz NNBS – mit dem einen Ziel: Wir möchten die Zukunft mitgestalten.

Standorte