About us

About us

We means «us». We don’t belong to anybody, never have. This makes us independent and shapes our culture.

We focus on people and their environment. In architecture as well as in our company.

Facts and figures

  • Founded in Bern in 1922
  • Seven locations in Switzerland and three in Germany
  • Approx. 300 employees
  • Training company with approx. 16 apprentices and 10 trainees
  • Approximately 2700 completed and 100 ongoing projects
  • Monthly construction sum approx. CHF 30 million
Zahlen und Fakten

Team

Our 300 specialists and generalists from 17 nations combine their experience and know-how in daily project work. Together they develop well-founded interdisciplinary solutions.

History

  • Early specialisation on hospital buildings

    In 1922 Otto Rudolf Salvisberg and Otto Brechbühl set up a joint office in Bern thereby laying the foundation for IttenBrechbühl. The breakthrough came in 1924/25 with the competition for the Lory hospital which was followed by the infant home in Elfenau. They won their third 1st prize with the faculty buildings for the University of Bern. These projects established the office in the architectural scene of their day. The pair became the court architects for Hoffman-La Roche both at home and abroad from 1934 onwards. After Salvisberg's early death, Brechbühl took over the Bern office in 1940. In the 60s he was joined by Jakob Itten until the company grew to over 200 employees at the start of the 70s, and thanks to several major projects it established itself as a specialist for the health sector.

  • Rededication to quality of design

    The economic downturn after the oil crisis led to a collapse in orders. In 1975 the banks forced Itten to hand over to a stronger partner, Motor Columbus.

    At the end of 1979 the new managing director, Peter Staub, found a company in disarray. The workforce which had now shrunk to 80 employees, had little work and there were scarcely any design architects left. The internal rebuilding process began with long-term strategic planning. Staffed with young architects, the company succeeded in winning twelve 1st prizes from around 50 competitions, and architectural quality was reinstated as a central issue. The Technopark in Zurich, the treatment wing of Zurich's university hospital, the vocational school for nursing in Interlaken and the pathology unit in Bern were all projects from this period. The company also took on an increasing number of assignments where it acted as the developer, and it was the first to tackle Switzerland's industrial wastelands. In 1990 Motor Columbus withdrew from the company and it was taken over by Peter Staub and Hans Eggen.

  • Solid foundation for the future

    In 1993 Gartenmann & Partner AG acquired IttenBrechbühl AG's shares. A new era begins. The staff of 45 employees soon grew to over 200. Further offices were opened, subject areas and the range of services continuously expanded. Besides design, major emphasis was placed on implementation and the tight intertwinement of skill and expertise across the entire planning and implementation process.

    In 2012 Nick Gartenmann decided to settle his succession and transferred most of the shares to his co-managers of many years. Today's partners are committed to further strengthening and expanding this healthy and best-placed company.

Values we stand for

As a traditional Swiss company, quality is our top priority.

Innovation is the driver we use to help shape the future and create sustainable solutions. Respect for our clients and employees is a matter of course, and defines the way we interact with one another. Openness – both internally and externally – provides clarity and is the basis for mutual trust. We support sustainability out of principle: We are one of very few Swiss general planners who can provide references for all existing environmental certificates. 

Our commitment as a sponsor of cultural and sports events and as a training organisation is an investment in our own future and that of the next generation to whom we impart our knowledge.

Effective network

We are very active in the leading associations and competence centres such as the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA) and the Sustainable Construction Network Switzerland (Netzwerk Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz, NNBS) – with one goal: we want to help shape the future.

Locations

À propos de nous

À propos de nous

Nous sommes à nous, nous l'avons toujours été. Cela nous rend indépendants et façonne notre culture. Nous nous concentrons sur les personnes et leur environnement. Dans l'architecture comme dans l'entreprise.

Faits et chiffres

  • Fondée à Berne en 1922
  • Sept sites en Suisse
  • Env. 300 employés
  • Entreprise de formation avec env. 16 apprentis et 10 stagiaires

Grafik Mitarbeiterstruktur

 

* Ces prestations de services sont accomplies par notre société sœur finitia ag.

Équipe

Nos 300 spécialistes et généralistes de 17 pays mettent en commun leur expérience et leur savoir-faire dans le travail quotidien sur les projets. Ensemble, ils développent des solutions interdisciplinaires bien fondées.

Histoire

  • Une spécialisation dans la construction d'hôpitaux

    En 1922, Otto Rudolf Salvisberg et Otto Brechbühl fondent à Berne un bureau commun, posant ainsi la première pierre de ce qui allait devenir la société IttenBrechbühl. La percée significative se produit entre 1924 et 1925, avec le concours pour l’hôpital de Lory, suivi bientôt par la pouponnière d’Elfenau. Ils remportent le troisième 1er prix pour les instituts de l’université de Berne. L’agence est ainsi parvenue à se faire une place dans le monde de l’architecture de l’époque. À partir de 1934, tous deux deviennent les architectes attitrés de la société Hoffman-La Roche, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Après la mort prématurée d’Otto Salvisberg, Otto Brechbühl reprend en 1940 le cabinet de Berne. Jakob Itten viendra le rejoindre dans les années soixante. Au début des années soixante-dix, le cabinet compte plus de deux cents collaborateurs. Grâce à plusieurs projets d’envergure, il s’est fait un nom un tant que spécialiste dans le domaine de la santé.

  • Renouer avec des projets de qualité

    La récession entraînée par la crise pétrolière provoque l'effondrement de la demande. En 1975, les banques contraignent Jakob Itten à céder la société à un partenaire plus solide, Motor Columbus.

    Peter Staub devient directeur général à la fin de l’année 1979. Il découvre en arrivant une société en piteux état. Les collaborateurs, dont le nombre est passé à quatre-vingts, n'ont que peu de travail, le travail de projet est presque entièrement absent. La reconstruction interne de la société passe par une planification stratégique à long terme. Avec l’aide de jeunes architectes, IttenBrechbühl parvient à remporter douze fois le 1er prix d’une cinquantaine de concours. Le cabinet renoue avec une architecture de qualité. Parmi les projets de cette époque, citons le Technopark de Zurich, l’aile de traitement de l'hôpital universitaire de Zurich, l’école des professions paramédicales à Interlaken ou encore l’institut de pathologie de l’université de Berne. En outre le bureau assure de plus en plus souvent la maîtrise d’ouvrage. Il est le premier à s’intéresser aux friches industrielles du pays. Motor Columbus finit par se retirer en 1990, et Peter Staub reprend la société avec Hans Eggen. 

  • Des bases solides pour l'avenir

    En 1993, la société Gartenmann & Partner SA reprend les actions d’IttenBrechbühl AG. Une nouvelle ère commence. Le nombre de collaborateurs passe rapidement de quarante-cinq à deux cents. De nouveaux bureaux sont créés, les secteurs et la gamme de prestations ne cessent de s’étendre. La réalisation et l’étroite relation entre savoir-faire et compétences – à travers l’ensemble du processus de planification et de réalisation - sont avec la conception les atouts majeurs du cabinet.

    En 2012, Nick Gartenmann désigne ses successeurs et lègue une grande partie de ses parts aux cadres de la société, ses collaborateurs de longue date. Aujourd’hui, les partenaires se sont fixés comme objectifs de continuer à renforcer et à étendre l'excellent positionnement du cabinet et sa solide gestion.

Les valeurs pour lesquelles nous nous engageons

En tant qu‘entreprise suisse, la qualité revêt une priorité absolue. 

L’innovation est le moteur qui nous permet de façonner l’avenir et d’élaborer des solutions prometteuses. Le respect vis-à-vis des clients et des collaborateurs est pour nous une évidence et c‘est cette marque de confiance qui constitue la base de nos relations. Nous encourageons la durabilité et sommes l‘un des rares planificateurs généraux à posséder des références sur tous les labels environnementaux.

Notre engagement en tant que sponsor de manifestations sportives et culturelles et en tant qu‘entreprise formatrice est un investissement pour notre avenir et celui des générations futures à qui nous transmettons notre savoir.
 

Réseau efficace

Nous nous engageons très activement au sein d’importantes associations professionnelles et de pôles de compétences tels que la SIA ou le Réseau Construction Durable Suisse NNBS – avec l’objectif suivant contribuer à façonner activement l’avenir.
 

Lieux